Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
OTC Scholarship Recipients Thank Trustees

At the January meeting of the Okefenokee Technical College Foundation, Foundation trustees met three of this year’s OTC Foundation scholarship recipients. The students introduced themselves and thanked the trustees for their part in providing them financial assistance to attend college.

Brad Williamson, a Bacon County resident, received a Toolbox Workforce Scholarship Recipientsscholarship and a Bagwell Family Foundation scholarship. Brandi Morgan and Brooke Herndon, Ware County residents, both received an OTC Foundation High School scholarship. Morgan is enrolled in the Medical Assisting program, and Herndon is enrolled in the core curriculum for the Radiologic Technology program.

The board meeting was held at Okefenokee Technical College. However, three trustees - Andy Stone, Tommy Nimmer, and Phil Martin (Clinch) - attended the meeting from their own offices via online technology. Williamson, a Computer Information Systems student, served as technical assistant during the meeting.

With scholarship monies raised by the trustees, a foundation scholar is selected each year from every graduating class in the service area. Toolbox scholarships are awarded quarterly and help students purchase program-related tools required for their courses. During 2007 the OTC Foundation awarded 191 scholarships to OTC students.Scholarship Recipients

OTC Foundation trustees are Ben Bennett (Pierce), Judge Mike Boggs (Ware), Marion Davis (Charlton), Judge Sam Edgar (Bacon), Porky Haynes (Ware), Bill Higginson (Pierce), Phil Martin (Clinch), Moi Monroe (Brantley), Tommy Nimmer (Clinch), Larry Paulk (Ware), Andy Stone (Clinch), Bruce Tison (Ware), Jay Williams (Bacon), and James Willis (Ware).

Photo: 1 - OTC President Gail Thaxton (left), Trustee Jay Williams, and Trustee Judge Sam Edgar (right) congratulate Brad Williamson, an OTC Foundation scholarship recipient.

Photo: 2- - OTC Foundation trustees enjoyed meeting scholarship recipients at their January meeting. L to R: Larry Paulk, OTC Foundation Chair; President Gail Thaxton; Brandi Morgan, Brooke Herndon, and James Willis, Foundation Trustee.


More Success Stories