Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
Summer Manufacturing Academy is Great Success

The second annual Summer Manufacturing Academy was held June 5-7, 2007, as a joint partnership between East Central Technical College and Okefenokee Technical College.  Nine students participated in the program, which was sponsored by B-Way Corporation and Lee Container.

As part of the activities, the junior and senior high school students were given a tour of B-Way and Lee Container, where they learned about manufacturing processes and technology. They also toured PCC Airfoils and Wal-Mart Distribution Center in Douglas.

The enthusiastic participants learned about robotics, PLCs, industrial systems, and electro-mechanical technology from Rock Mercer, OTC Industrial Technology instructor; Allen Harris, OTC Career Transition Specialist; Ubaldo Gonzalez and Michael Seabolt, ECTC Industrial Technology instructors; and Rodney Ragsdale, Coffee County High School Robotics teacher.  The students toured technology labs at both colleges and used lab equipment to solve real-world manufacturing/technology problems.Manufacturing Academy

According to Krystal Boone, a senior at Clinch County High School and Academy participant, “The camp has been a lot of fun.   I really enjoyed seeing first hand how local industries operate and having the opportunity to work with robotics.”
The Summer Manufacturing Academy was coordinated by the OTC Economic Development staff and the ECTC Economic Development staff. OTC coordinators included Dr. Neil Aspinwall, Andy Brannen, and Judy Hesters-Scott. ECTC coordinators included Brandy Wilkes, Lidell Greenway, and Christi Cobb.
The following students participated in the program: Krystal Boone, Cassondra Brown, Cherrelle Clark, Zach Edmonds, Jamie Gandy, Jacob Lindsey, Kionna Tolbert, Prentiss Tolbert, and Elmo Tumblin.

Photo: Back Row (L to R) Elmo Tumblin; Jacob Lindsey; Zach Edmonds; (Front L to R) Lidell Greenway, Director of Economic Development; Jamie Gandy; Rodney Ragsdale, Coffee High robotics teacher; Krystal Boone; Cherrelle Clark; Kionna Tolbert; Judy Hesters-Scott, OTC Business & Industry Services Specialist; and (Kneeling) Prentiss Tolbert


More Success Stories