Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
OTC Radiology Technology Students Pinned

Members of the 2009 radiologic technology class of Okefenokee Technical College were recognized and celebrated with a pinning ceremony held March 12, 2009, at the OTC Miller Lecture Hall. Donna Yeomans, the radiologic technology program director, assisted by Brent Clemmer and Paula Rouse, pinned the seventeen graduating students, signifying that they had met the requirements of their program of study.

Select students and technologists were recognized during the ceremony. Jane Steedley RT(R) presented Anthony Thorne with the Satilla Regional Medical Center (SRMC) Outstanding Student Award. Katie Streat received the Coffee Regional Medical Center (CRMC) Outstanding Student Award presented by Jodie Vickers RT(R), CRMC Clinical Instructor.Radiology Students
Brittany Brown and Dixie Franklin presented the SRMC Outstanding Technologist Award to Jane Steedley RT(R) for her guidance and support to students throughout their two-year tenure.  Jennifer Jowers and Charlee O’Berry presented the CRMC Outstanding Technologist Award to Ronda Holton RT(R) for her instruction and dedication. Harry Guest and Shakira Brown presented the Clinical Affiliate Award to Amy Leggett RT(R) for her support and guidance during the students’ training period.

Jennifer Jowers received the Mallinckrodt Award presented by Donna Yeomans for having the highest GPA, clinical scores, and work ethic skills in her graduating class.
One of the highlights of the ceremony was when Yeomans; Brent Clemmer, OTC radiologic clinical coordinator; and Paula Rouse, OTC radiologic technology clinical instructor, addressed the group. Mrs. Yeomans shared that the students had “mastered the art of radiography in adverse times of transition with a positive attitude during her recent temporary leave of absence, without displaying any signs of opposition.”  She extended a heartfelt thank you for being such an accepting and understanding group of students.  She congratulated them and reminded them to “remain humble and realize their special abilities as gifts from God.”  Mr. Clemmer left the students with encouraging memories and the wisdom “to continue their educational journey.”  Mrs. Rouse reminded the group to “treat their patients as they would their own family members.”  Students were ceremoniously pinned and the presented to the audience.
The following radiologic technology students were pinned: Danni Alexander, Miki Blanton, Brittany Brown, Shakira Brown, Alexis Daniels, Dixie Franklin, Harry Guest, Halie Jacobs, Heidi Johnson, Jennifer Jowers, Veronica Mora, Charlee O’Berry, Candace Palmer, Crystal Rigby, Katie Streat, Anthony Thorne, and Lindy Varnadore.
Several of the students in the radiology program took part in the ceremony. Candace Palmer gave the invocation followed by the welcome from Miki Blanton and Veronica Mora. Danni Alexander, Anthony Thorne, Halie Jacobs, and Katie Streat gave a presentation entitled “Class Memories.” Miki Blanton and Crystal Rigby gave the closing remarks.  In remembrance of the class, each instructor was presented with a class portrait.
Special appreciation was extended to the following clinical affiliates: Bacon County Hospital, Charlton Memorial Hospital, Clinch Memorial Hospital, Coffee Regional Medical Center, Orthopaedic Specialist of Southeast Georgia, Satilla Regional Medical Center, and Wayne Memorial Hospital.
An extended appreciation was given to the following for supporting the graduates of the program over the past two-years: Dr. Steve Pearce, Dr. Jewell Sweat, and Mrs. Cindy Tanner.

Back Row from Left: Lindy Varnadore (Ware); Harry Guest (Pierce); Danni Alexander (Ware); Shakira Brown (Pierce); Charlee O’Berry (Clinch); Veronica Mora (Coffee); and Anthony Thorne (Pierce)

Front Row: Crystal Rigby (Bacon); Halie Jacobs (Pierce); Heidi Johnson (Pierce); Miki Blanton (Wayne); Katie Streat (Pierce); Jennifer Jowers (Coffee); Candace Palmer (Ware); Alexis Daniels (Ware); Brittany Brown (Lowndes); and Dixie Franklin (Brantley).


More Success Stories