Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
OTC Officials & Area Manufacturers Attend Governor’s Awards Luncheon

Manufacturing Appreciation Week (MAW) was developed by the Technical College System of Georgia and the Georgia Department of Economic Development. An important component of the week's festivities -- and an objective of this event in general -- is an educational one, i.e. making school children aware of industry and manufacturing as providing viable career options. Each year there are several school-related activities initiated, such as poster or placemat design contests, with scholarships awarded. It is important for students to know that manufacturers provide jobs for engineers, scientists, technicians, advertisers, utility companies, and many others in our state.

The Department of Technical and Adult Education and the Department of Photo 1Economic Development, co-hosts of the event, would like to express theirappreciation to the following sponsors who contributed to this year’s MAW: BB&T, Georgia Power, Georgia Tech: Enterprise Innovation institute; HA&W, AT&T; and Pattillo.

Photo 1:

A luncheon honoring the 2009 Manufacturer of the Year winners from across Georgia was held Thursday, April 16, at the Cobb Galleria Centre in Atlanta. Attending the luncheon were OTC staff and representatives from three manufacturing companies in our area: (front L to R) OTC Financial Aid Director, Angie Wilson; OTC President, Gail Thaxton; Continuing Education Director, Judy Hesters; (back row) Facilities Director, Chad Boyett; Admissions Photo 2Director, Neal Murphy; and D. L. Lee & Sons officials, David Lee and Dave Lee. Manufacturing representatives from Simmons and Richmond Baking also attended.

Photo 2:

David Lee (left) and Dave Lee (right) of D. L. Lee & Sons were congratulated by OTC President Gail Thaxton for their nomination for Manufacturer of the Year.

Photo 3:

Simmons Manufacturing officials, Jeff Richter (left) and Jan Allen (right), joined OTC Photo 3President Gail Thaxton (center) and Okefenokee Tech officials in Atlanta on April 16 for the 2009 awards luncheon. Okefenokee Technical College nominated six area manufacturers for the statewide Manufacturer of the Year award. Those nominated in the small (150 or fewer employees) and medium (151-749) categories were: D. L. Lee & Sons (Alma), Industrial Forge (Bacon), Milliken & Company (Alma), Richmond Baking (Waycross), Simmons (Waycross), and Voith (Waycross).

Photo 4:

Richmond Baking officials, Rick Theidel (left) and Lauren Jowers (right), attended the annual MAW awards ceremony as guests of OTC President Gail Thaxton. The annual awards ceremony is the highlight of Georgia Manufacturing Appreciation Week (MAW), celebrated April 13-17, 2009.Photo 4





More Success Stories