Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
Okefenokee Technical College Instructors Nominate 14 Students for GOAL

GOAL Nominees Instructors at Okefenokee Technical College have nominated fourteen students for the 2006 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL), according to Karen Boyle, coordinator for the college’s GOAL program. These students attended an orientation luncheon sponsored by the OTC Student Government Association on February 1. Chosen for recognition by their instructors are the following students:
Appling County: Keisha Peacock, Radiologic Technology; Bacon County: Candi Scott, Radiologic Technology; Ann Wilson, Respiratory Therapy; Coffee County: Kayla Chaney, Radiologic Technology; Jeff Davis County: Cynthia Harrell, Forestry; Sandy Rea, Medical Laboratory Technology; Pierce County: Vickie Dixon, Drafting; Chris Golding, Locomotive Electrical Systems; Bobby Howell, Electronics Technology; Ware County: Chanel Holmes, Sue Melton, Wendy Strickland, Computer Information Systems; Daniel Shaw, Electronics Fundamentals; Wayne County: Sharon Durrance, Business Office Technology;

The nominating instructors were: Sharon Gillis, Drafting; Tommy Peagler, Forestry; Amanda Morris, Laree Thomas, Derrell Harris, Computer Information Systems; Joelyn Bell, Business Office Technology; Bob Cardwell, Electronics Technology and Locomotive Electrical Systems; Amber Tuten, Medical Laboratory Technology; Dr. Jewell Sweat, Donna Yeomans Radiologic Technology; and Faye Mathis, Respiratory Therapy.

Georgia’s Technical College System sponsors the GOAL program at the state level. Locally, GOAL is sponsored by the Waycross-Ware Chamber of Commerce and coordinated by officials from Okefenokee Technical College with the support of the Student Government Association.
Preliminary interviews, chaired by Dr. Neil Aspinwall, Vice President of Economic Development programs, will be conducted February 15. After the nominees have been ranked, four finalists will be chosen to compete for the title of 2006 Okefenokee Technical College GOAL winner.

At that point, the four finalists will then be interviewed and evaluated by a panel of representatives from business and industry selected by the Waycross-Ware County Chamber of Commerce Education Committee. The student judged most outstanding will be designated the college’s nominee for the title of state GOAL winner and will compete with representatives from the state’s other technical colleges for the state award.

The winner of the state GOAL title, which is awarded for excellence in leadership and ability, will receive the GOAL medallion and the grand prize of a new automobile. The state winner’s college GOAL coordinator and the nominating instructor will receive a $250 check. The state GOAL competition is held in Atlanta in May.

Picture: Front L to R: Cynthia Harrell, Sharon Durrence, Ann Wilson, Vickie Dixon, Sue Melton, Sandy Rea, Bobby Howell.
Back row to L to R: Candi Scott, Keisha Peacock, Wendy Strickland, Kayla Chaney, Chris Golding, Daniel Shaw.


More Success Stories