Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
Students Nominated for GOAL Award

Instructors at Okefenokee Technical College recently nominated 8 students for Brandi Balbachthe 2009 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL), according to Karen Boyle, coordinator for the college’s GOAL program.

GOAL, a statewide program of the Technical College System of Georgia, honors excellence in academics and leadership among the state’s technical college students. GOAL winners are selected at each of the state’s 33 technical colleges Nihlia Griffin Barnesas well as the four Board of Regents colleges with technical education divisions.
GOAL winners from each campus will compete in Atlanta in May and one will be named as the statewide GOAL winner.

Chosen for recognition by their instructors are Brandi Balbach of Patterson, Randy DriverComputer Information Systems; Nihlia Griffin Barnes of Waycross, Surgical Technology; Randy Driver of Waycross, Computer Information Systems; Blane (Jeremy) Hill of Patterson, Drafting Technology; Sean Johnson of Waycross, Computer Information Systems; Terry Scott Leggett of Axson, Forestry Technology; Gary Mikel of Alma, Respiratory Care Technology; and Miranda Rodriguez of Waycross, Respiratory Care Technology.

Jeremy (Blaine) Hill “The purpose of the GOAL program is to spotlight outstanding achievement by students in Georgia’s technical colleges and to emphasize the importance of technical education in today’s global workforce,” said Boyle.

A screening committee at Okefenokee Technical College will review each of the instructors’ nominations and conduct personal interviews with the students. Sean JohnsonFinalists will then be chosen to compete for Okefenokee Technical College’s GOAL winner.

The finalists will take part in another round of interviews and evaluations by Terry Scott Leggettrepresentatives from local business and industry, in cooperation with the Waycross-Ware County Chamber of Commerce. That panel will consider the students’ qualities, such as academic achievement, personal character, leadership abilities and enthusiasm for technical education.

The student judged most outstanding will be designated as the college’s Gary MikelGOAL winner and introduced at the Waycross Exchange Club on March 12. This student will then participate at another level of competition through consortium groupings. OTC’s region consortium competition will include local GOAL winners from Savannah Technical College, Altamaha Technical College, Ogeechee Technical College, and Southeastern Technical College. The top two students of each consortia will go to Atlanta in May to compete for the state GOAL title.

Miranda RodriquezThe title of state GOAL winner earns the student the responsibility of traveling the state as the ambassador for the entire technical college system. To make that travel easier, the winner receives a new car from Chevrolet, the statewide corporate sponsor of Georgia’s GOAL program.


Brandi Balbach
Nominating Instructor: Derrell Harris
Computer Information Systems

Nihlia Griffin Barnes
Nominating Instructor: Christine Whitley
Surgical Technology

Randy Driver
Nominating Instructor: Derrell Harris
Computer Information Systems

Jeremy (Blane) Hill
Nominating Instructor: Sharon Gillis
Drafting Technology

Sean Johnson
Nominating Instructor: Derrell Harris
Computer Information Systems

Terry Scott Leggett
Nominating Instructor: Tommy Peagler
Forest Technology

Gary Mikel
Nominating Instructor: Faye Mathis
Respiratory Care Technology

Miranda Rodriquez
Nominating Instructor: Faye Mathis
Respiratory Care Technology



More Success Stories