Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
OTC Foundation Presents 2010 GOAL Winner with Scholarship

Akino Brown (front, center), 2010 OTC GOAL winner, was recently presented with an achievement scholarship award by Okefenokee Technical College Foundation Chair Larry Paulk (front, left) following the March 29 board meeting. OTC Foundation trustees award the scholarship each year to the local GOAL winner to help defray the cost of competing in the various levels of Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) competition. Donation from Foundation

Brown, a resident of Bacon County, is enrolled in the computer information systems program at OTC and was nominated by the program director, Derrell Harris. Brown will compete with representatives from Georgia’s other technical colleges for the 2010 GOAL medallion and a new automobile. OTC Foundation members James Willis (back, L to R) area manager of Georgia Power, Honorable Judge Mike Boggs, and Honorable Judge Sam Edgar were on hand for the presentation. OTC President Gail Thaxton, ex officio member of the foundation board, thanked trustees for supporting educational excellence and congratulated Brown.

Following a recent board meeting OTC Foundation board members James Willis (back, L to R), Judge Mike Boggs, Judge Sam Edgar, and Larry Paulk (front, left) congratulated Akino Brown (front, center) for being selected as the OTC GOAL winner. On behalf of the Foundation Board, Chairman Larry Paulk presented Brown with a scholarship award. OTC President Dr. Gail Thaxton (front, right) congratulated Brown and thanked trustees for their support.


More Success Stories