Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
OTC Foundation Announces Fall Academic Scholarship Recipients


Amanda Bennett (L to R), Robert Visicaro, and Thomas Boatright are among fifteen Okefenokee Technical College students awarded academic scholarships for fall quarter 2009, according to OTC Foundation Director Cindy Tanner (right). Recipients of these scholarships must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher, make application for the award, and meet other specific criteria determined by the foundation scholarship committee.Scholarship

Amanda Bennett of Brantley County is pursuing a diploma in surgical technology. She is working part-time while taking allied health core classes and hopes to begin program classes in the fall. After earning a high school diploma from Brunswick High School, Bennett attended College of Coastal Georgia before transferring to Okefenokee Tech. According to Bennett, she loves OTC and plans to use the scholarship money to pay for books, scrubs, and other program supplies.

Robert Visicaro is relatively new to the area and enrolled in the environmental horticulture program at OTC. He plans to pursue a career in golf course grounds management, turf management, or similar field. “I have worked on some quality golf courses in several states and really enjoyed this line of work,” stated Visicaro. “I feel that I could be better prepared if I have the knowledge that the environmental horticulture degree offers.” Visicaro is active in the Horticulture Club and the Student Government Association (SGA) at OTC.

Thomas Boatright, a resident of Ware County, is a veteran and full-time student in the automotive technology program. He serves as the SGA student representative for the automotive technology program and volunteers to work with youth and children’s programs at Kettle Creek Church. “I was a jet mechanic in the Air Force, and now maintaining is in my blood,” stated Boatright. “OTC has given me the opportunity to fulfill my dream.”

Other OTC Foundation academic scholarship recipients for fall quarter (not available for photo) are Heather Ackerman, Megan Baladez, Evelyn Bruce, Veronica Carter,
Catherine Kelly, Algernon Leggett, Isabel Morfa, Santo Nino, Rachel Nolan, LaShon Stanford, Sarah Sweat, and Kalen Westberry.

In addition to Foundation academic scholarships, the OTC Foundation awards toolbox scholarships, hardship grants, and a number of restricted or named scholarships each quarter.


More Success Stories